Senate: Democrats blocked a bill that would have introduced criminal penalties for abortionists who fail to provide care to newborns who survived abortion. The Born-Alive Abortion Survivors Protection Act, introduced by Sen. Ben Sasse, R-Neb., goes further than the 2002 Born-Alive Infant Protection Act by establishing a penalty of up to five years of prison time for healthcare workers who violate the law. The 2002 law simply awarded legal personhood to babies born alive, including those born after an attempted abortion.
Sasse called for the Senate to pass the bill by unanimous consent, but Sen. Patty Murray, D-Wash., objected. Tom McClusky, president of March for Life Action, said in a statement that blocking the bill was a move to “stand up in favor of infanticide and the abortion lobby.”
Missouri: Legislators will consider a bill that would require the consent of one parent or guardian and the notification of any other custodial parent or guardian before performing an abortion on a minor. Similar bills have failed five previous times, according to the St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Samuel Lee, director of Campaign Life Missouri, told the newspaper that “moms and dads need to be involved in the lives of their children—no matter how messy life can be sometimes.”
New Mexico: The state House voted 40-29 on Wednesday to pass a bill codifying a legal right to abortion in state law through all nine months of gestation. Elisa Martinez, director of New Mexico Alliance for Life, called the bill a Trojan horse because it also contains provisions removing conscience protections for doctors and would “turn every hospital, clinic and doctor’s office into an abortion clinic or referral center.”
Mississippi: Republicans have introduced a bill in the state House that would protect the unborn from abortion after they have a detectable heartbeat, or as early as six weeks into a pregnancy. Lt. Gov. Tate Reeves said he supports the bill and is “committed to making Mississippi the safest place in America for an unborn child.” Mississippi is already one of 19 states that protects babies from abortion after 20 weeks of pregnancy.
North Carolina: Lawmakers will consider two pro-life bills this year, one to safeguard the unborn from abortion after 13 weeks of gestation and a second that would require abortionists to tell women about the reversal process for the abortion-inducing drug RU-486. —S.G.